Rise of the Province of the Apes II: The Battle of UQAM

Know what the hardest part of coming up in a family that has a strong military presence in it? You eventually become extremely dependent on logic.

Without cause and effect in your surroundings, you become crazy.

When the first Maple Spring took place in 2012, I thought I was going to lose my mind.

I mean, here I was already contending with the errant stupidity that the separatist movement is founded and fuelled on, as well as pyaing the highest taxes in North America due to senseless spending and bloated bureaucracies…

…and now I had to live with students who took it upon themselves to sabotage society to scrimp out of a $.69/day hike in tuition?

Really?

Yes, really.

After all, this is Quebec, the spoiled brat province with an unreality befitting of a 3rd-world dictator.

In 2012, we watched on for months on end as the dregs of society marched day and night in the streets, broke store front windows, trashed offices, blocked bridges and tunnels to prevent commuters from getting to work as well as getting home, attacked bystanders who jeered them, terrorized journalists and politicians at their homes and threatened tourists and on and on…

…only to turn and wine like victims when the cops served them up a knuckle sandwich with a side of billy club.

What’s A Good Play Without A Sequel?

Three years later, our little bandit beggars are back again.

Some of the original cast is back for this latest instalment, as they never made it to the end of their studies because they spent all their time gooning through the streets the first time around.

The only thing different this time around is that we’ve gone through two governments and now their battle looks to hit a brick wall it didn’t face when they were contending with Charest and Marois.

Couillard has shown that he has three times the nerve/poker-face that Charest ever did and unlike Marois, the life-long politician, Couillard’s a self-made man with real-world management/problem-solving skills and is no stranger to approaching contentious issues with a well-researched, pragmatic approach.

While we’re presently watching a sequel roll out before us, I see this as the final chapter in the story. There will be no trifecta.

First of all, because they had little public support beforehand. This time? Just about none. Almost everyone outside of the public employee sector is adamantly against them.

But in order to end this irritating story in two acts, we have to ask the question:

What Will It Take For It To Stop?

A new normal.

After the economic meltdown of 2008, many financial experts referred to the post-chaos financial lifestyle of Americans as the ‘new normal’.

That whole thing about getting a house with no money down? It’s over – you now have to put skin in the game. It’s the ‘new normal’.

Cutting back on visits to the bar/restaurant? Drink/eat at home, it’s the ‘new normal’.

Adaptability is one of humanity’s top traits.

If you’ve never been to the gym, pumping the iron and running that treadmill might be tough at first and you may well find yourself contesting that voice inside your head, but…over time, as you hit the gym more and more, you start feeling empty when you skip a day. It becomes a new normal.

When the #ManifEnCours Part I debuted, Charest was in power. His faux-pas? He engaged them in negotiations and allowed for revisions. No, no, no.

Dialogue With The Unelightened = NO ‘New Normal’

What Charest should have done once the “Maple Spring” began is call a massive press conference and gotten taxpayers, to take turns at the podium and deliver from-the-heart testimonials like the one that was sent to Aaron Rand over at CJAD:

” Help Wanted – Looking for Professional Protester “

I am a hard working Quebec taxpayer who pays close to 50% of my earnings to income taxes. Above the standard income tax,
I also pay higher sales tax, additional gov’t fees for most basic services, forced gov’t insurance fees, higher automobile fees to own and operate my vehicles, and the highest gasoline prices in Canada.

I also pay taxes so our Quebec students can have the lowest tuition fees in North America, and I also pay extra security costs so students can protest those same fees. And of course I also pay taxes so students from France who do NOT contribute to our system, pay reduced rates to study here.

I pay higher maintenance costs for my car due to the horrendous condition of our roads and infrastructure. And as it turns out,
I’ve also been paying, unknowingly, for the corruption perpetrated by government officials and bureaucrats who were on the take.

I pay for the lack of productivity from our bloated civil service. I pay to have a financially unsustainable public day care system, so people can send their kids to a $7.00 a day daycare while they sit at home and watch TV, instead of watching their kids.

So as you can see, I’m a bit frustrated, and I believe I have some legitimate gripes to protest. Unfortunately, by the time I get home from work every day, its already late, I’m usually pretty tired, and I need to get some rest, so I can get up the next day and go back to work to make the money to pay my taxes, and fees, and contributions, and surcharges… all of which makes it very difficult for me to find the time to protest, hence the reason for my ad seeking a professional protester who will protest for me.

I’m prepared to pay you a fair hourly wage, and as a bonus, I will share whatever gains are actually achieved through your protesting. So if your protesting saves me $1000.00 in taxes, I will pay you a 30% commission.

So let me know if you’re ready to take this on… And in case you’re wondering, I’d protest these injustices myself, but then where would our society get the money to pay for all the things I’m protesting ?

Yours truly,
Overburdened and Tired Taxpayer

We can’t expect the “students” and their supporters to understand this tax payer’s (and all others like him).

After decades of being exposed to artificial abundance, it’s to be expected that it will take decades for them to unlearn the mindset of entitlement that has taken hold of their entourage. We can’t afford to wait for them to get up to speed.

It’s squarely on the shoulders of the Couillard government to not only remain stern, but come down even harder on the hooded little runts looking to start crap.

When the student movement sees that no matter how hard they whine, they won’t get any more money while their public support base erodes as the very taxpayers who cover their tuition sees that Couillard is on their side, they will eventually get used to the new normal.

That or they’ll move elsewhere and become someone else’s problem to deal with.

The austerity measures won’t be in place forever, however, for the good of Quebec’s future, many of the programs that have been erased will never return.

Every society eventually faces the end of a cycle that brings with it a tipping point.

Couillard has to accept that he must not only finish what he started, but once he’s done, simply burying the vampire of over-spending and artificial abundance won’t do. He’ll have to drive a stake through its entitled heart and fry its parasitic corpse on the pyre.

Leave a Reply

